by J.K. Mayo

The CIA is responsible for some of the shocking things in this superior British spy thriller that is from beginning to end strewn with bodies. Col. Harry Seddall is called in when an executive in the secret service is found—his severed head on a silver tray in his dining room, his body buried in the woods behind his house. Whatever may or may not be hidden in his home causes three more murders, but when Seddall seems to be nearing an explanation, he is put on leave and must continue investigating on his own. He and his beautiful assistant uncover a story about a helicopter crash at sea in which a dozen men disappeared—a yarn designed to hide a disastrous secret raid into a foreign country. The British secret service, even at the top, is totally corrupt, with everyone running his own spy games. Mayo, author of an earlier thriller, The Hunting Season, is an expert at getting a reader's pulse rate up two or three notches. Fans of Frederick Forsyth, Ken Follett and Jack Higgins will find Wolf's Head as polished and enjoyable as those gentlemen at their best. (Atlantic Monthly, $16.95)

  • Contributors:
  • Campbell Geeslin,
  • Mary Vespa,
  • Harriet Shapiro,
  • Eric Levin.