Picks and Pans Review: Great Reads

UPDATED 01/23/2006 at 01:00 AM EST Originally published 01/23/2006 at 01:00 AM EST

Fiction

Blindfold Game by Dana Stabenow A taut, atmospheric thriller about a terrorist plot to drop a dirty bomb on Anchorage and direct America's retaliation towards Southeast Asia. The author paints convincing portraits of masterminds, mercenaries and CIA operatives, and jacks up the adrenaline with a high-speed ocean chase.

Company by Max Barry Fans of The Office and Dilbert—and anyone else who considers corporate life insane—will recognize the buttoned-down absurdities that Barry spoofs in this biting, hilarious novel.

Long Way Back by Brendan Halpin Halpin walks a tightrope with scenes of profound sadness sprinkled with truly funny moments in this novel about an ex-altar boy who worships God, the Ramones and his older sister. The author's greatest gift: his pitch-perfect ear for dialogue.

Above Suspicion by Lynda La Plante Author of the Prime Suspect series, La Plante keeps readers devouring pages at a murderous rate with this mystery starring detective Anna Travis, the clever daughter of a former London police chief.

Your Reaction

Follow Us

On Newsstands Now

Robin Roberts: How Loved Saved Me
  • Robin Roberts: How Loved Saved Me
  • Emma and Andrew: All About Hollywood's Cutest Couple
  • Prince George! More Yummy Photos

Pick up your copy on newsstands

Click here for instant access to the Digital Magazine

Advertisement

From Our Partners

Watch It

Editors' Picks

From Our Partners



Sign up for our daily newsletter and other special offers.
    Choose your newsletters
Thank you for signing up! Your request may take up to one week to be processed.
    see all newsletters