Good Deeds

Phil Keoghan to Take His Own Amazing Race

03/25/2009 at 08:00 AM EDT

Phil Keoghan to Take His Own Amazing Race
Phil Keoghan
He's no stranger to observing overwhelming challenges, but by his own estimation, "This is the most daunting physical thing I have ever attempted," Amazing Race host Phil Keoghan tells PEOPLE about his own amazing race – a 40-day, 39-city cycling tour from Los Angeles to New York.

Starting this Saturday, Keoghan, 41, plans to average 100 miles a day in pedal power. "Riding a bicycle is about getting back to basics," he says. "It's good for the waistline and it's good for the wallet, is what I'm saying."

But Keoghan isn't undertaking the road trip strictly for fitness. His adventure, sponsored by the health-store chain GNC, will take him to GNC outlets, to casting calls for The Amazing Race, to signings of his book No Opportunity Wasted, and to promotions of his favorite portable food NOW One Square Meals. The journey will also help him raise money and awareness for Bike MS.

Phil Keoghan to Take His Own Amazing Race| The Amazing Race, Good Deeds, Phil Keoghan

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society "is sponsoring nine of the major rides I am doing," he says. "I have been involved with the MS chapter here in California, and I have participated in their rides over the last four years."

Keoghan hopes he is not alone on the road. He is encouraging fans and well-wishers to check out his Twitter updates – or, better yet, turn out in person to see him, or even sign up to ride with him.

Also on view will be former Amazing Race contestants and even Keoghan's dad, John. "It's an absolute, monumental effort," says Keoghan, "but I think a tremendous amount of good is going to come out of it."

Here's a first look at Keoghan's itinerary:

Saturday, March 28 – Los Angeles
Sunday, March 29 – Victorville, Calif.
Monday, March 30 – Baker, Calif.
Tuesday, March 31 – Las Vegas
Wednesday, April 1 – Caliente, Nev.
Thursday, April 2 – Cedar City, Utah
Friday, April 3 – Kanab, Utah
Saturday, April 4 – Page, Ariz.
Sunday, April 5 – Kayenta, Ariz.
Monday, April 6 – Cortez, Colo.
Tuesday, April 7 – Pagosa Springs, Colo.
Wednesday, April 8 – Saguache, Colo.
Thursday, April 9 – Fairplay, Colo.
Friday, April 10 – Denver, Rest Day
Saturday, April 11 – Denver
Sunday, April 12 – Fort Morgan, Colo.
Monday, April 13 – Wray, Colo.
Tuesday, April 14 – McCook, Neb.
Wednesday, April 15 – Holdrege, Neb.
Thursday, April 16 – Sutton, Neb.
Friday, April 17 – Lincoln, Neb.
Saturday, April 18 – Omaha, Neb.
Sunday, April 19 – Atlantic, Iowa
Monday, April 20 – Des Moines, Iowa
Tuesday, April 21 – Iowa City, Iowa
Wednesday, April 22 – Davenport, Iowa
Thursday, April 23 – Rochelle, Ill.
Friday, April 24 – Chicago.
Saturday, April 25 – Chicago
Sunday, April 26 – Plymouth, Ind.
Monday, April 27 – Fort Wayne, Ind.
Tuesday, April 28 – Lima, Ohio
Wednesday, April 29 – Columbus, Ohio
Thursday, April 30 – Dennison, Ohio
Friday, May 1 – Pittsburgh, Rest Day
Saturday, May 2 – Pittsburgh
Sunday, May 3 – Frostburg, Md.
Monday. May 4 – Hagerstown, Md.
Tuesday, May 5 – Washington, D.C.
Wednesday, May 6 – Baltimore
Thursday, May 7 – Philadelphia
Friday, May 8 – New York, End City

Your Reaction

Follow Us

On Newsstands Now

George Turns 1: Raising a Little Prince!
  • George Turns 1: Raising a Little Prince!
  • Ryan and Eva: How They Hid Her Pregnancy
  • Jillian Michaels: Why I Left Biggest Loser

Pick up your copy on newsstands

Click here for instant access to the Digital Magazine

Advertisement

From Our Partners

Watch It

Editors' Picks

From Our Partners