01/02/1998 at 12:00 AM EST

The name of D.W. Griffith from the Directors Guild of America's career achievement award, the Guild announced Tuesday. Hollywood pioneer Griffith (1875-1948) has long been criticized for glorifying the Ku Klux Klan in his seminal 1915 Civil War epic "The Birth of a Nation." Though past Griffith Award winners have included Francis Ford Coppola, Stanley Kubrick, Woody Allen, Ingmar Bergman, Orson Welles, Billy Wilder, John Huston, Alfred Hitchcock, Frank Capra, King Vidor, John Ford, Cecil B. De Mille and Steven Spielberg, the DGA is seeking a new name to attach to its prize.

Your Reaction

Follow Us

On Newsstands Now

Bindi Irwin: Remembering My Dad
  • Bindi Irwin: Remembering My Dad
  • Adam Levine's Wedding Details!
  • James Garner: 1928-2014

Pick up your copy on newsstands

Click here for instant access to the Digital Magazine


From Our Partners

Watch It

Editors' Picks

From Our Partners