'Matrix Revolutions' for Whole World

11/04/2003 at 01:44 PM EST

Keanu Reeves is opening wide. Very wide.

In a world first, Warner Bros. will bend the rules of time and space for Wednesday's simultaneous international release of the final installment of the Wachowski brothers' sci-fi trilogy, "The Matrix Revolutions."

The screen adventure will be launched in a synchronized, global-village-style opening at precisely the same hour in 80 countries and 107 territories, reports Variety. Warners (which, like PEOPLE, is part of Time Warner) has booked "Revolutions" into 3,502 North American theaters.

"There are few films that can take a chance like this," Warners domestic distribution chief Dan Fellman tells the trade paper.

Industry observers are also calling this the most expensive opening in the history of the business. "Revolutions" is estimated to have cost more than $200 million to produce, and Warners is expected to spend more than $100 million to market it.

In what the studio has dubbed "zero hour," "Revolutions" will be launched at 6 a.m. in Los Angeles; 9 a.m. in New York; 2 p.m. in London; 5 p.m. in Moscow; 10 p.m. in Beijing; and 11 p.m. in Tokyo, says Variety -- and stars of the movie, including Keanu Reeves and Jada Pinkett Smith (in Tokyo) and Laurence Fishburne (in New York), will be positioned around the world to give interviews.

Check local listings for the star near you.

Your Reaction

Follow Us

On Newsstands Now

Robin Roberts: How Loved Saved Me
  • Robin Roberts: How Loved Saved Me
  • Emma and Andrew: All About Hollywood's Cutest Couple
  • Prince George! More Yummy Photos

Pick up your copy on newsstands

Click here for instant access to the Digital Magazine

Advertisement

From Our Partners

Watch It

Editors' Picks

From Our Partners



Sign up for our daily newsletter and other special offers.
    Choose your newsletters
Thank you for signing up! Your request may take up to one week to be processed.
    see all newsletters